Music Monday, October 17th, 2011


October 17, 2011 - 8:00pm

The first Music Monday of the fall features students, faculty, and alumni from the Department of Music playing works ranging from Gibbons, Greenwood, Bach, Berio, Weir, White and much more.

Full Program

First Fancy for Two Treble Instruments                                                         Orlando Gibbons
No. 8 Schnell  from Fourteen Light Pieces                                                     Paul Hindemith
Mocking of girls from Bartók's choral works                                                   Béla Bartók

Albert Manders, flute & Jennifer Sternick, violin

Atlantic Drift  (2006)                                                                                   Judith Weir 

Wil Snead, violin & Roger Zahab, violin*

Duetti per violini                                                                                          Luciano Berio

Jennifer Hess, violin & Wil Snead, violin

The Sojer and the Throut (1999)                                                                   Barbara White

Jennifer Hess, violin & Roger Zahab, violin*

Terzianum  (2007)                                                                                        Ursula Mamlok

I Schnell – II Sehr langsam -  III Scherzando –IV Vivo – V Lento –
VI Tender – VII Presto – VIII Capriccioso – IX Slowly swinging

Albert Manders, flute & Roger Zahab, violin*

Bourée Shades of Blue            (2011)                                                             Andrew Gidley

Roger Zahab, violin & Paula Tuttle, cello

Julie-O (1988)                                                                                               Mark Summer

Paula Tuttle, cello*

Suite in G, BWV 1007                                                                                     J.S.Bach
        Prelude – Allemande

Andrew Macgregor, viola

Quartett in F, K 590 (1790)                                                                             W.A.Mozart
        Allegro moderato

Paranoid Android                                                                                            Thomas Yorke,
                                                                                                                    Colin Greenwood,
                                                                                                                    Edward O’Brien,
                                                                                                                    and Philip Selway,
                                                                                                                    arranged by Eric Gorfain

Olivia Jackson & Wil Snead, violins
Roger Zahab, viola*
Eric Gratta, cello

Concert Series