University Orchestra

An Evening of Indian Classical Vocal Music with Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty

Chhandayan Center for Indian Music presents, in association with University of Pittsburgh will present an Evening of Indian Classical Vocal Music with Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty. He will be accompanied by Sandip Ghosh, tabla; Gourab Chatterjee, harmonium; Brajeswar Mukherjee, vocal. Pitt tabla instructor Samir Chatterjee curated this event.

For tickets call For ticket reservations and information call 412.999.5019, 412.580.1023, or 724.265.7957 or visit

Media Roundup for Jazz Seminar and Concert, Feldman Symposium and Mini-festival, and Sweeney Todd

Music at Pitt is starting November off in a big way and local media have taken notice. The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette published previews of the Jazz Seminar and Concert and Sweeney Todd, while the City Paper conducted extensive interviews with Jan and Amy Williams in anticipation of the Morton Feldman Symposium and Mini-Festival.

University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, March 21, 2012

Updated: Roger Zahab leads the orchestra in Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Robert Ward's Dialogues, a Triple Concerto
Jen Hess, violin; Eric Gratta, cello; and Harry Jamison, piano
Eric Moe's Sonatuna for clarinet and string quartet
     with soloists John Culver, clarinet; Jen Hess, violin; Andy Macgregor, cello
 and W.A.Mozart's Symphony in D, K 504 Prague

University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, February 8, 2012

Pitt's Orchestra performs Brahms, Schultz, and Holst.

Johannes Brahms: Scherzo from Trio in e flat major, op. 40
         Zachary Koopmans, horn*, and Evan Mallory, piano+ with Roger Zahab, violin*
Gustav Holst: Double Concerto for two violins with Jen Hess & Wil Snead, solo violinists
Robert Schultz: Legend for string orchestra
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 2 in D major, op. 73

OCC credit is available for this concert.

*faculty artist
+ guest artist

University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, December 7, 2011

The program for the final UPSO concert of 2011 includes Antonin Dvorak's Slavonic Dance, op. 46 no. 1 – Jonghee Kang, conducting; Tison Street's Fantasia for 6 cellos; J.S. Bach's  Concerto in c minor for oboe, violin, strings and basso continuo, BWV 1060, featuring oboist Emily Cappo and violinist Wil Snead; and Sergei Prokofiev's Piano Concerto no. 1 in D flat, Harry Jamison, piano and Roger Zahab, conducting.