University of Pittsburgh

Private Lesson Contacts

Students may enroll in private lessons, class piano (Music 121), or class guitar (Music 122). The number of subsidies for private lessons is limited, so first opportunities go to declared music majors and students participating in one of the major ensembles. Private lessons are given by our performance faculty, as well as by some members of the academic faculty. Private lessons carry an additional cost of $395 per term.

Chamber Music may be taken for 1 credit per semester (Music 672). Undergraduates may also enroll in one of the ensembles for 1 credit per semester.

Performance Faculty

Instrument(s)

Jason Allison


MA, Duquesne University
allisonj@pitt.edu
French Horn

Donna Amato


BMA, University of Arizona
damato@andrew.cmu.edu
Piano

Pandit Samir Chatterjee


samir@tabla.org
Tabla

Frank Cunimondo


724-226-1976
frankcunimondo1@verizon.net
Jazz Piano

Sandy Dowe


jazzy1srd@gmail.com
Jazz Voice

Tina Faigen


DMA, University of Miami
412-482-8661
TFaigen@aol.com
Piano

Don Fellows


MM, State University of New York at Freedonia
412-731-2884
donaldfellows@verizon.net
Organ

James Ferla


MA, University of Pittsburgh
ferla@andrew.cmu.edu
Classical Guitar

Barbara Hois


Director of Chamber Music Ensemble
MM, Cincinnati College - Conservatory of Music
412-429-3457
bhois@pitt.edu
Flute

Greg Humphries


BS, Point Park College
412-657-9553
normanh98@gmail.com
Set Drums

Carl Jackson


BFA, Carnegie Mellon University
412-401-0186
caljac@andrew.cmu.edu
Trombone & Tuba

John Maione


BA, University of Pittsburgh
412-621-7609
jjmaione@aol.com
Jazz Guitar

Jeffrey Mangone


BS, Duquesne University
412-366-0545, Cell: 412 512-8077
bassicjeff1@gmail.com
Bass Guitar, Double Bass

Linda Morton-Fisher


MM, The Juilliard School
412-243-2297
fisherpgh@aol.com
Bassoon

Joe Negri


Carnegie Mellon University
jnegri@andrew.cmu.edu
Jazz Guitar

Kenneth Powell


EdD, University of Pittsburgh
412-855-5366
kennzie@consolidated.net
Jazz Saxophone

Karl Priore


karltrmpt@verizon.net
Trumpet

Mary Beth Skaggs Malek


BA, Northwestern University
MM, Eastman School of Music
412-793-9272
mbsmalek@hotmail.com
Clarinet

Amy Stubbs


MM, Carnegie Mellon University
stubbspercussion@gmail.com
Percussion

Richard Teaster


Director of Men's Glee Club
412-624-1388
rteaster@pitt.edu
Voice

Paula Tuttle


MA, Carnegie Mellon University
412-561-6637
paulatuttle@yahoo.com
Cello

Cynthia Warren


330-338-2985
cynehorn@yahoo.com
Oboe

Roger Zahab


Senior Lecturer
Director of the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Director of Undergraduate Studies

MM, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1980
412-624-4017
rzahab@pitt.edu
Violin and Viola

Copyright 2009 | Site by UMC Web Team