University of Pittsburgh

Core Faculty

Portrait

Geri Allen


Associate Professor
Director of Jazz Studies
MA, University of Pittsburgh
412-624-4113
gaallen@pitt.edu
Portrait

Shalini R. Ayyagari


Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 2009
412-624-4196
sayyagari@pitt.edu
Portrait

Olivia Bloechl


Professor
PhD, University of Pennsylvania
412-624-2711
olivia.bloechl@pitt.edu
Portrait

James P. Cassaro


Professor
Head, Theodore M. Finney Music Library
MA, Musicology, Cornell University, 1993
412-624-4131
cassaro@pitt.edu
Portrait

Adriana Helbig


Associate Professor
Director, Carpathian Music Ensemble
Affiliated Faculty Member, Cultural Studies, Global Studies, Center for Russian and East European Studies

PhD, Columbia University, 2005
412-624-4193
anh59@pitt.edu
Portrait

Michael Heller


Assistant Professor
PhD, Harvard University, 2012
412-624-4061
michael.heller@pitt.edu
Portrait

Aaron Johnson


Assistant Professor
PhD, Columbia University, 2014
412-648-8303
aaron.j.johnson@pitt.edu
Portrait

Eric Moe


Andrew W. Mellon Professor
Codirector of Music on the Edge
PhD, University of California at Berkeley, 1982
412-624-4198
emoe@pitt.edu
Portrait

Susan Rice


Senior Lecturer
Director of Heinz Chapel Choir
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies

DMA, University of Illinois at Ubana-Champaign, 2011
412-624-4508
srice1@pitt.edu
Portrait

Deane L. Root


Professor
Chair, University of Pittsburgh Department of Music
Director, Center for American Music
Fletcher Hodges, Jr. Curator, Center for American Music
Editor in Chief, Grove Music

PhD, University of Illinois, 1977
412-624-7775
dlr@pitt.edu
Portrait

Mathew Rosenblum


Professor
Codirector of Music on the Edge
Director of Graduate Studies

PhD, Princeton University, 1992
412-624-4199
rosenblu@pitt.edu
Portrait

Andrew N. Weintraub


Professor
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, 1997
412-624-4184
anwein@pitt.edu
Portrait

Amy Williams


Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Admissions
PhD, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1999
412-624-4120
amywill@pitt.edu
Portrait

Roger Zahab


Senior Lecturer
Director of the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
Director of Undergraduate Studies

MM, State University of New York at Stony Brook, 1980
412-624-4017
rzahab@pitt.edu

Visiting Professors

Christopher Ruth


Visiting Assistant Professor of Musicology
PhD, University of Pittsburgh, 2012
412-624-4197
cruth@pitt.edu

Retired Faculty

Portrait

Nathan Davis


Professor, Emeritus
Director of Jazz Studies
PhD, Wesleyan University, 1974
ndavis@pitt.edu
Portrait

Akin Euba


Andrew W. Mellon Professor, Emeritus
PhD, University of Ghana, 1974
aeuba@pitt.edu
Portrait

Don O. Franklin


Professor, Emeritus
PhD, Stanford University, 1967
dof@pitt.edu
Portrait

John Goldsmith


Lecturer (1946-2017)
Driector of Heinz Chapel Choir
MM, Westminster Choir College, 1976
jgold1@pitt.edu
Portrait

Mary S. Lewis


Professor, Emeritus
PhD, Brandeis University, 1979
lsm@pitt.edu
Portrait

Bell Yung


Professor, Emeritus
PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1970 (Physics)
byun@pitt.edu

Copyright 2009 | Site by UMC Web Team