Music on the Edge: Firebird Ensemble


March 17, 2012 - 8:00pm

The Firebird Ensemble presents Curtis Hughes's Danger Garden (2006), Lee Hyla's My Life on the Plains (2010), and two works by Eric Moe: Frozen Hours Melt Melodiously into the Past (2009) and Meanwhile Back at the Ranch (2011).

“Firebird flies…” —The Boston Globe

Musically defined by eclectic programming with interdisciplinary influences, Firebird Ensemble aims to break down preconceptions about new music, to build enthusiasm for new compositions, and to create a unique concert atmosphere. Firebird Ensemble is a group of adventurous musicians celebrating their enthusiasm for new music by striving for artistic excellence, taking creative risks, and seeking to attract and engage diverse audiences ranging from the educated new music listener to the novice concertgoer. Firebird places priority on featuring the works of promising young composers with varied musical backgrounds, and provides educational programs to bring the music of our time to our nation's youngest audiences.

Tickets are available in advance through ProArtsTickets. General admission is $15; students and seniors are $10. Visit or call 412-394-3353. At the door: General admission is $20; students and seniors are $15. Concerts at Bellefield Hall Auditorium are free for Pitt students with valid ID.

Return to MOTE homepage.

Concert Series


Ticket available through ProArtsTickets