IonSound Project: Bridges and Byways


March 15, 2015 - 7:00pm

IonSound Project presents Bridges and Byways, the second concert in our From Note to Finish series.  This program will examine later works by the composers presented on our fall concert including Max Bruch, Erwin Schulhoff, Steve Reich, and Lee Hyla.  Also on the program, three world premieres by Pittsburgh composers Jonghee Kang, Lenny Young, and Roger Zahab, all commissioned by IonSound Project especially for this series.  Two exceptional high school students will also have their works performed by the ensemble, a product of their work over the course of this year's mentorship program.  

This season notably marks a groundbreaking multi-organization partnership between performing ensembles, composers, and high school students.  From Note to Finish is designed to mentor a select group of students as they produce a concert in which they compose and perform all the music.  The students are high schoolers from Pittsburgh CAPA 6-12 and North Allegheny High School.  The aforementioned Pittsburgh composers will present workshops and reading sessions to mentor the students throughout the process, and IonSound, Alia Musica, and Living Room Chamber Music Project will select and program certain works in their 2015 season, bringing it to the classical and new music audience.  In addition to having the opportunity to premiere their pieces for their peers at their respective schools, the students will present a concert free to the public at 7:00 pm on May 3rd, 2015 at Lawrenceville’s Grey Box Theatre.  This project is a grateful recipient of a HIVE grant. HIVE Pittsburgh is a program of The Sprout Fund that supports connected learning projects that help youth, including tweens, teens, and young adults, prepare for college, the workforce, and civic participation.  Don’t miss this unique concert!

Tickets: General admission is $15; student and senior admission is $10. Available at the door.


Jonghee Kang, Immersed in an Ethereal Blue Light - Open Water  (2015)

Steve Reich, New York Counterpoint  (1985)  

Lee Hyla, One Moe Time (Waltz for Eric)

Erwin Schulhoff, Duo for Violin and Cello  (1925)

II. Zingaresca  

IV. Moderato  

Lenny Young, Lividity  (2015)

Evan Neely, Moteur Rotatif (2015)

Brendan Kinzler, (title TBD) (2015)

Max Bruch, Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Cello and Piano, Op. 83   (1910)

V. Rumanische Melodie

VI. Nachtgesang (Nocturne)

VII. Allegro vivace, ma non troppo

Roger Zahab, I doubt this is over (2015)

Concert Series