University of Pittsburgh

University Orchestra

October 11, 2017 - 8:00pm

This homecoming week concert will feature Pitt alumnus Guy Klusevcek, world famous accordionist/composer, performing his Ratatatatouille for accordion and orchestra. Also on the program are Igor Stravinsky's Concerto in D for string orchestra and Johannes Brahms's Variations on a theme by Haydn, op. 56a.

April 19, 2017 - 8:00pm

Pitt's Symphony Orchestra concludes its 40th Anniversary Season with Gilda Lyon's "Alice Awakens" (from her opera A New Kind of Fallout) and Symphonie Fantastique by Hector Berlioz.

February 22, 2017 - 8:00pm

Pitt's Symphony Orchestra performs two works by Prokofiev for this program: the Second Piano Concerto with soloist Harry Jamison, and the Classical Symphony. The concert also features the premiere of Nicholas Grieneisen's Waltz for Orchestra.

Pittsubrgh Tribune Review classical music critic Mark Kanny highlighted the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra's 40th Anniversary Season in the most recent A&E update. Kanny noted that,

Auditions will be held for Department of Music student ensembles beginning Monday, August 29. Our choirs and instrumental ensembles are open to students throughout the University and you are encourgaged to apply regardless of your major. Below, please find specific audition requirements for each of our groups.

December 7, 2016 - 8:00pm

Featuring a new work by Federico Garcia de Castro, Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G with soloist Christian Clark, and Brahms’s Third Symphony

October 5, 2016 - 8:00pm

Join Roger Zahab and the University of Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra for the first concert in the ensemble's 40th Anniversary Season!

March 2, 2016 - 8:00pm

World renowned jazz pianist Geri Allen joins Pitt's Symphony Orchestra as soloist on Mary Lou Williams' Zodiac Suite.

December 9, 2015 - 8:00pm

For their final concert of the semester Pitt's Symphony Orchestra presents Morton Feldman's Structures for orchestra (1960-62) and Jean Sibelius' Symphony no. 5 in E flat major, op. 82.

November 4, 2015 - 8:00pm

The University of Pittsburgh Symphony shows off the different sections of the orchestra with Carlo Gesualdo's brass septet, Moro, lasso, al mio duolo, Franz Krommer's Partita in F major, op. 77 for winds, and the premiere of David Mahler's After the Traveler (Sounding a Place to Stay) for string orchestra.

Copyright 2009 | Site by UMC Web Team