Congratulations, Class of 2014

The Department of Music hosted a graduation brunch with senior undergraduates and their families to celebrate the accomplishments of the class of 2014. Guests enjoyed the offerings of Campus Catering, as graduates, family members, faculty and staff conversed together.

Department of Music Chair Andrew Weintraub offered words of congratulations to the students and their families, praising them for their many achievements. Weintraub pointed with pride to the fact that more seniors than ever had given solo recitals this year as their senior projects, a testimony to the hard work and skills they had developed. 

Undergraduate advisor John Goldsmith seated the graduates at the front of the room and introduced each in turn, noting the degree (and in many case, degrees) they had earned along with their future plans. In a first for the annual graduation brunch, Goldsmith invited guitarist Grant Watkiss to perform one of the pieces he had prepared for his recital.

The 2013–14 academic year has been one of impressive accomplishment for our undergraduates and graduates alike. We in the Department of Music look forward to all the things our alumni will do to further music performance and scholarship in the years to come.

Class of 2014


Nicholas Amoscato, Music and Computer Science

Jeremy Garcia, Music

Tom Gower, Music

Stephen Magreni, Music

Jack McKenna, Music and English Fiction Writing

Natalie Rogers, Music and Computer Science Minor

Alex Turnshek, Music and Environmental Studies

Grant Watkiss, Music

Eric Weaver, Music and History

Chloe Wieczorek, Music and Communication Rhetoric



Aaron Brooks, Composition and Theory

Alec Summers, Composition and Theory

Jeremy Woodruff, Composition and Theory


Undergraduate Awards and Scholarships for the 2014–15 Academic Year

Garrett Carson, The Mildred Miller Posvar Scholarship

Shane McLaughlin, The Alfred d'Auberge Scholarship

Randal Skander and John O'Brien, The Gluck Student Assistance Fund


Graduate Student Award and Scholarships for the 2014–15 Scholarship Year

Andrew Mellon Predoctoral Fellowship

Jonghee Kang

Meng Ren